大麻蒸馏权威指南

一般蒸馏

蒸馏是利用进料的热力学性质并进一步纯化的精制方法。在大麻蒸馏过程中,可以获得高纯度大麻素,例如THC / CBD馏出物。

取决于操作参数,进料的质量和用于进行蒸馏的设备,大麻馏出液的效力范围通常为75%至99%。以下是大麻蒸馏过程和蒸馏的一般类型的详尽细分。

大麻蒸馏类别

蒸馏科学

给我看看

短程蒸馏

给我看看

最终产品上的应用

给我看看

饲料原料成分

给我看看

优化蒸馏效率的技巧

给我看看

大麻成分沸点参考

给我看看

蒸馏科学解释

蒸馏是大麻加工流程中补救之前的最后一个过程。事实证明,蒸馏表明它可以产生较高纯度的产品,并且产率较高。

蒸馏的基本原理是通过不同的沸点分离组分。首先是将原料转化为蒸气,然后在其通过冷凝器塔时,在受控的温度和压力下将其冷凝为液体。蒸气将在冷凝器塔中凝结回液态,并被引导到收集瓶中,因此完成了简单的蒸馏过程。查看以下戴夫教授的视频,以动画演示蒸馏过程。

短程蒸馏

什么是短程蒸馏?

短程蒸馏是一种蒸馏技术,其利用减压使具有较低沸点的组分行进短距离并冷凝到冷凝器塔上,从而达到蒸馏目的。由于被蒸发的成分行进的距离很短,通常只有几厘米,因此称为短程蒸馏。

short path distillation kit

先进的短程蒸馏:

擦膜蒸馏

刮膜蒸馏也称为刮膜短程蒸馏。通常用于擦拭膜的另一种命名法是擦拭膜分子蒸馏,因为分离发生在分子水平和精确度上,其中蒸发器和冷凝器之间的蒸汽行进距离在分子的平均自由程长度内。迄今为止,擦膜蒸馏是最有效的分子蒸馏技术。

擦拭膜蒸馏通常是紧凑的。这种蒸馏过程开始于将烧瓶内的进料泵入加热的蒸发塔中。有均匀分布的刮水片,大部分由高质量的PTFE材料制成,在蒸发塔壁上形成湍流的薄膜。进料仅在短时间内与壁接触,以使热量在分离前发生传递。短时间的热暴露时间是对大麻素等热敏感成分的理想选择,并且避免了热降解。当蒸发开始时,较轻的沸点物质变成蒸气,并且在与位于蒸发塔内部的冷凝器塔接触之前,将行进一小段距离。蒸气迅速冷却并回到液态。浓缩的组分沿着冷凝路径到达收集器。其他较高沸点的材料在刮水片引起的重力和湍流作用下向下移动。这样,蒸馏完成并且粗物质被分离。

HumBay Wiped Film Molecular Distillation Set-Up

刮膜蒸馏的最大优点之一是减少了对热的暴露时间。作为短程蒸馏,擦膜蒸馏工艺还可以通过降低操作压力来降低目标物质的沸点。这样降低的沸点允许产物的热分离而没有热降解和长停留时间。擦拭的薄膜会产生湍流,使薄膜均匀分布,从而优化蒸发表面积和向下推动力,以推动高沸点物质向下移动,从而提高总体分离效率。

分馏

什么是分馏?

分馏是另一种蒸馏技术,广泛用于植物提取精制,特别是大麻。进料将被分为不同的组成部分。分馏的一般原理与短程蒸馏的原理非常相似,后者是利用组分沸点的不同来分别蒸发和冷凝。

分馏的整个工作过程始于加热原料,以使原料蒸发。在进料瓶的顶部与分馏塔相连,该冷却剂将围绕分馏塔并在塔内表面提供冷却效果。当蒸气与色谱柱接触时,高沸点物质会凝结回液态,低沸点物质将继续向上蒸发。当蒸气沿色谱柱传播时,高沸点物质将凝结并向下下落,回到原点。低沸点物质将蒸发并流入冷凝器,该冷凝器从顶部分支出来以进行收集。沿管道将所有物质分离为不同的比例,这种现象称为理论板。控制温度越精细的板越多,分离效果就越好。因此,通过这种蒸馏过程获得了纯物质的一部分。

fractional distillation

分馏设备的类型

旋转带分馏

纺丝带建立在简单的分馏基础上,进一步提高了加工效率。代替空的分馏塔或填充塔,旋转带蒸馏设备在分馏塔的中心具有螺旋型旋转仪器。该带通常由特氟龙或金属制成。铁氟龙纺丝带通常在225°C下运行。高于该温度将导致特氟龙带变形,因此需要金属带。在运行期间,旋转带会产生湍流并迫使上升的蒸气与冷凝液紧密接触。这种接触将增加分离效率。

Spinning band

馏分油应用

cannabis consumer spending growth

谈到大麻市场,蒸馏工艺具有巨大的商业潜力。由于蒸馏技术,以下是大麻衍生物的简短列表。

抽油烟机

大麻馏出物可直接用作可吸烟物。随着电子吸烟设备市场的蓬勃发展,大麻馏出物正在努力赶上鲜花的消费。娱乐市场上的许多大品牌都在利用蒸馏技术来完成内部订单。 

cannabis smokable

食用食品

食用食品是另一个不容小under的大市场。高纯度馏出物无臭无味,非常适合用作烹饪原料。这为那些对抽烟有不良印象但想要品尝大麻的药用功效的消费者打开了机会。 

Cannabis Edibles

化妆品和外用

化妆品市场巨大而有利可图,这是许多人涌入使用大麻注入产品进入化妆品行业的主要原因。由于没有直接的消费行为,并且通过皮下渗透而溶解,化妆品被认为比可吸烟和食用的食品更安全。大麻馏出物中含有高纯度大麻素,从化学结构上讲它可以溶解在许多化妆品配方中,这为越来越多的企业和消费者进入市场并体验大麻植物的神奇功效提供了巨大的优势和推动力。

药品

制药行业已经意识到大麻植物的美丽及其带来的医学利益。为了研发更好的配方,蒸馏工艺以获得高度纯化的成分是关键。

Cannabis Pharm

饲料原料成分

了解饲料原料的组成对于运营计划和最终产品的预期非常重要。进料的成分取决于提取方法和精制过程。下图是对不同提取方法和精制过程产生的一般成分进行分类的图表。

Constituent

蒸馏操作技巧

现在您了解了蒸馏过程的基础。以下是一些技巧和窍门,可以帮助您提高操作期间的整体蒸馏效率并提高产量,最终增加收入。

提高饲料原料质量

首先,如前所述,进料的质量是影响蒸馏效率和最终馏出液质量的最重要因素之一。经验法则是限制饲料原料中的物质数量。更多的物质意味着在蒸馏过程中分子之间的更多相互作用,这将降低处理效率,花费更长的处理时间并可能阻塞色谱柱或污染最终产品。例如,某些萜烯和脂肪酸的沸点与大麻素相似。这些物质会给最终的馏出物带来可怕的燃烧味和怪异的气味,这是非常不希望的。精制过程(例如脱羧和过滤)将大大提高饲料原料的质量,因此强烈建议使用。

减少热辐射

热量在蒸馏过程中起着重要作用。它可以蒸发材料,但也会导致热降解。选择导热性能更好的受热面材料可以提高传热效率并减少材料的受热时间。

大麻成分沸点参考

Cannabis Components Boiling Points

归根结底,操作程序和设备质量决定了最终结果,强调使用哪种蒸馏方法几乎没有影响。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

The Definitive Guide to Cannabis Distillation

Distillation in General

Distillation is a refinement process that utilize the thermodynamic properties of the feed materials and further purify them. In the case of cannabis distillation process, highly purified cannabinoids such as THC/CBD distillate can be obtained.

Depends on the operational parameters, quality of feed material and the equipment used to perform distillation, potency of cannabis distillate can range anywhere from 75% to 99% purity in general. Below is a thorough breakdown of cannabis distillation process and general types of distillation.

Cannabis Distillation Category

Distillation Science

show me

Short Path Distillation

show me

Fractional Distillation

show me

Applications on End Products

show me

Feed Materials Constituents

show me

Tips to Optimize Distillation Efficiency

show me

Cannabis Components Boiling Point Reference

show me

Distillation Science Explianed

Distillation is the last process before remediation in cannabis processing flow. Distillation is proven to show that it can generate the higher purity of product with decent yielding.

The basic principle behind distillation is separation of components by different boiling points. It starts with the conversion of the feed material into a vapor and then condense it into liquid form under controlled temperature and pressure when it passes through the condenser column. Vapor will condense back into liquid form in the condenser column and be guided to a collector flask and therefore finishes a simple distillation process. Check the video below from Professor Dave for animated demonstration of distillation process.

SHort Path distillation

What is Short Path Distillation?

Short path distillation is a distillation technique that utilizes reduced pressure to have component with lower boiling point to travel a short distance and condense onto the condenser column and therefore achieving distillation purpose. Since the distance traveled by the evaporated component is very short, normal a few centimeters, it is called short path distillation.

short path distillation kit

Advanced Short Path Distillation:

Wiped Film Distillation

Wiped film distillation is also known as wiped film short path distillation. Another nomenclature commonly used for wiped film is wiped film molecular distillation since the separation happens at molecular level and precision where distance traveled for the vapor between evaporator and condenser is within the order of average free path length of the molecules. Wiped film distillation is so far the most effective molecular distillation technique.

Wiped film distillation is a generally compact. Such distillation process starts with the feed material within a flask being pumped into a heated evaporation column. There are evenly distributed wiper blades, mostly made of high quality PTFE material, create turbulent thin film onto the wall of the evaporation column. The feed material stays only a short period of time contacting with the wall to allow heat transfer take place before separation. The short exposure duration to heat is ideal for heat sensitive components such as cannabinoids, and avoids thermal degradation. When evaporation starts, the lighter boiling point material becomes vapor and it will travel a short distance before it gets in contact with the condenser column located inside the evaporation column. Vapor quickly cooled down and back into a liquid state. Concentrated components follows the condensation pathway to a collector. Other higher boiling point materials moves downwards under the force of gravity and turbulence caused by the wiper blades. Thus, the distillation is completed and crude materials gets separated.

HumBay Wiped Film Molecular Distillation Set-Up

One of the biggest advantages of wiped film distillation is the reduced exposure duration to heat. As a short path distillation, wiped film distillation process can also obtain reduce boiling point of targeted substance by reducing the operating pressure. Such reduced boiling point allows thermal separation of products without thermal degradation and long residence time. The wiped film generates a turbulence to evenly distribute the thin film to optimize evaporation surface area and downward force to push higher boiling point substance to move down, and therefore increase the overall separation efficiency.

Fractional Distillation

What is fractional distillation?

Fractional distillation is another type of distillation technique that widely used for botanical extraction refinement, specifically for cannabis. The feed material is going to be separated into different component parts. The general principle for fractional distillation is very similar to that of short path distillation which is to utilize the differences of boiling points of components to evaporate and condense them separately.

The whole working process of fractional distillation starts with heating the feed material so that the material evaporates. On top of the feed material flask it is connected with a fractionating column, which cooling agent will around the column and provides the cooling effect at the internal column surface. As the vapor gets in touch with the column, the higher boiling point materials condense back into liquid form where the low boiling point materials are going to keep evaporating upwards. As the vapor travels along the column, it the high boiling point substances will be condensed and falling downward, back into the originate. The low boiling point substance will evaporate and flow into the condenser that branched out at the top for collection purpose. All substances will be separated to different ratio along the pipe, and such phenomenon is called theoretical plates. The more plates with finer control of temperature will allow finer separation. Therefore, a pure fraction of the substances is achieved through such distillation process.

fractional distillation

Types of Fractional Distillation Equipment

Spinning Band Fractional Distillation

Spinning band is built upon the base of simple fractional distillation with further improved processing efficiency. Instead of empty fractional column or the packed column, spinning band distillation equipment has a helix type rotating instrument in the center of the fractional column. The band is normally made of Teflon or metal. Teflon spinning band normally operates under 225 °C. Temperature above that would cause deformation of the Teflon band and therefore metal band is required. During operation, the spinning band can create a turbulence and force the rising vapor to get close contact with the condensate. Such contact would increase the separation efficiency.

Spinning band

Distillate Applications

cannabis consumer spending growth

Distillation process has huge commercial potentials when it comes to the cannabis market. Below is a short list of cannabis derivatives thanks to the distillation technology.

Smokables

Cannabis Distillates can be directly used as smokables. With the booming of the electronic smoking device market, cannabis distillates are working its way out to catch out with the consumption of flowers. Lots of great brands in the recreational markets are utilizing distillation technology to fulfill their orders in house. 

cannabis smokable

Edibles

Edibles is another great market that should not be underestimated. High purity distillate contains no odor nor flavour, which is ideal to serve as an ingredient for cooking. This opens up the opportunity for consumers who have a bad impression towards smokables but want to get a taste of the medicinal effects of cannabis. 

Cannabis Edibles

Cosmetics & Topicals

Cosmetics market is giant and lucrative, and this is the main reason that many people are rushing into the cosmetics industry with cannabis infused products. With no direct consumption behavior and dissolved through subcutaneous infiltration, cosmetics are considered safer than smokeables and edibles. Cannabis distillate contains high purity cannabinoids which chemical structure wise can dissolve in lots of cosmetic formulation, and this enables the huge advantages and drive force for more and more business and consumers to come into the market and experience the magics of cannabis plants.

PHARMACEUTICALS

Pharmaceutical industry has been aware of the beauty of cannabis plants and the medicinal benefits it could bring. In order to R&D for better formulation, distillation process to obtain the highly purified ingredient is a key.

Cannabis Pharm

Feed Material Constituent

Understanding the constituent of feed material is important for operational planning and anticipation towards final products. The constituent of feed material varies depending on the extraction method and refinement process. Below is a chart that categorize general constituents result from different extraction method and refinement process.

Constituent

Tips for Distillation Operation

Now you understand the basics of distillation process. Below are some tips and tricks that might help you improve overall distillation efficiency during operation and increase yielding, which eventually bump up your revenue.

Improve the Quality of Feed Materials

First of all, as stated before, the quality of feed material is one of the most important factor that will affect distillation efficiency and the quality of distillate at the end. Rule of thumb here is to limit the number of substances in the feed materials. More substances means more interaction between molecules during distillation process, which would either downgrade processing efficiency, cost much longer process time and potentially clog the column(s), or contaminate the end products. For instance, some terpene and fatty acids would have similar boiling point to cannabinoids. These substances would bring an awful burning taste and weird smell to the final distillate, which is highly undesirable. Refinement processes such as decarboxylation and filtration will greatly improve the quality of feed material, therefore is highly recommended.

Reduce Heat Exposure

Heat plays a big role during distillation process. It can evaporates the material, but so will it cause thermal degradation. Select the heating surface materials with greater heat conduction property can help with heat transfer efficiency and reduce heat exposure time to materials.

Cannabis Components Boiling POint Reference

Cannabis Components Boiling Points

At the end of the day, the operational procedure and quality of equipment determines the final result, emphasis on which distillation method to use plays little impact.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *